Rugby League

About Rugby League in Ireland

Rugby League Ireland (RLI) are the sports governing body for the sport of Rugby League in Ireland. Although Rugby Union is the dominant form of Rugby played in Ireland, the 13 man code (Rugby League) has gained quite a following over the last ten years.

At present there are 18 domestic teams playing in three provincial leagues (Leinster, Munster and Ulster). The provincial representative teams are picked from the domestic leagues and players. In 2010 Munster, Leinster and Ulster came together to play the first ever interprovincial series.

Representative Teams

The development of Irish based players has always been at the heart of RLI and in recent years development teams. Ireland Wolfhounds has played in 26 full internationals, winning 15 and losing 8 with 3 draws. As it is not a full member of the Rugby League International Federation, these matches are not considered to be tests. Ireland has also played friendlies against Australia and Scotland.

The Ireland A Wolfhounds team is selected from players in the Irish domestic competition. This team is administered by Rugby League Ireland.

The Ireland Development team is selected from players from the Irish domestic competition and is see as a feeder for the A team.

The Ireland Students team is a selection of players in full time study and until 2008 this team was administered in the UK under the RFL umbrella. In 2008 the team management moved to be governed by RLI and the results are tracked at this point.

The Ireland Under 18's are currently run out of the UK under the RFL Schools umbrella but RLI are keeping the links to the management open to try and keep the progression of players from this competition into the Students and the other representative teams.

RLI Domestic Past Champions

1997 - Dublin Blues
1998 - Northside Saints
1999 - Dublin Blues
2000 - Churchtown Warriors
2001 - Cork Bulls
2002 - Dublin City Exiles
2003 - Dublin City Exiles
2004 - Clontarf Bulls
2005 - Treaty City Titans
2006 - Treaty City Titans
2007 - Treaty City Titans
2008 - Carlow Crusaders
2009 - Treaty CityTitans
2010 - Treaty City Titans